Netsuke


Dragon Netsuke in Rosewood

I have a small collection of netsuke that make good macro subjects.  In this one, I was using a circa 1979 Nikon 55mm f/2.8 micro lens that has been a favorite of mine over the years.  There’s a dedicated macro lens for the GF1 that’s very pricey.  The advantage is the new lens will autofocus whereas this one must be focused manually.  However, I find that macro lenses that do autofocus are hit or miss, and you’re better off just focusing by hand in any case.

This entry was posted in GF1, Macro, Objects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Netsuke

  1. nihaojapan says:

    I come here everyday and always get surprises.

    You have very nice collection, this Japanese 根付 (netsuke) is amazing. Since dragon is pure Chinese culture, we can see the merging history of the two cultures from it.

    I love manual lenses. They are wonderful on M4/3s. The feeling of rotating the focus ring is just cool. I agree with your comment about autofocus on macro lenses.

  2. Reese says:

    Thank you! And thanks for the lesson in cultural history. I didn’t realize that the dragon motif came from China. I have four 根付. This is the only one made of wood and the only dragon. The other three are ivory, which are much harder for me to photograph.

Leave a Reply

