Things that Curve


Cirque

I was inspired to shoot this picture because of a photo posted by Björn Utpott.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have his buildings or blue sky, but I find it interesting none the less.

Being in New York City, and being a Mac kinda guy, I had to pay a visit to the flagship Apple store in Manhattan, which offered another curvy photo opportunity.  The store is below ground, and has these very Applesque steps that take you there.  I shopped for about a half-hour.  During that time, there was a fellow who did nothing but clean these steps.

This entry was posted in Abstract, GF1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Things that Curve

  1. So you’re a Mac guy, eh? I haven’t been bitten by that bug yet. That second shot is great; the louvered view through the steps and the curves really structure the jumble of people and merchandise in the background. Very nice.

    As to the first photo, you can’t help the weather. I’m sure it improved the moment you left. It’s an interesting photo because the curve suggests closure, whether this is the case or not.

    • Reese says:

      The more you photograph the more you realize how dependent you are on the weather and the light (unless you’re a studio photographer like my son). I plan to come back to this location in the future to see what else I can get. You win the round for “curved openings framed by buildings”!

      Regarding Mac… I made the switch about three years ago and have been very happy that I did. I can provide details on the reasons it worked for me if you like. Prior to that, I was a diehard Windows user – bought my first PC for my company in 1981, and first personal PC for me in 1982. But I became disenchanted.

  2. nihaojapan says:

    As soon as I saw the steps, I knew where you were, Reese. Everyone who uses Mac should know the steps, they are just very Macintosh!

    Will you go and get iPad in the future? I am planning!

    • Reese says:

      Yes, I do have plans to get and iPad! I’m waiting for the 3g versions later this month. In the meanwhile, I’ll visit the Apple store to play with the iPad and wait to see what kind of applications are available for the unit. The Apple store was very Apple. The clear elevator that takes people from the street to the store was also quite cool! Right now, I have a Mac Pro, a Mac Book, an iPhone and an Apple TV. The great thing is that they all talk together easily over my home wifi network. Can you imagine if Apple made a camera?

Leave a Reply

