Dogwood Mandala


Flower mandalas are very interesting and I’m learning quite a bit about how to compose these.  With this one, based on a dogwood blossom, I was trying to obtain the abstraction of the mandala while maintaining the basic character of the dogwood.

This entry was posted in Abstract, Flowers, Mandala. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dogwood Mandala

  1. Lois Eiler says:

    Beautiful — flowers can be a tricky subject – to be different than nature’s idea and yet not loose it’s original beauty. Well done. I tweeted about this one!

    Lois

    • Reese says:

      Thanks Lois. I’m new to this, but believe that mandalas based on images should have a visible tie to their original subject. The underlying photographic should be a good subject in its own right.

  2. nihaojapan says:

    Excellent!! Nice job! I like this quite a bit. And I like yesterday’s photo as well.

    I had chance to watch Tibetan sand mandala painting. It was one of my most unforgettable experiences in my life.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dogwood Mandala « Tilted Horizon -- Topsy.com

  4. This is another fascinating idea, Reese. Up until reading this post, I admit to not knowing what a mandala was. Go ahead and laugh. Once I figure out how to make them, I might try my hand at it as well. By the way, that’s a superb abstraction that hasn’t lost the essence of the subject.

    • Reese says:

      Björn, It’s unlikely I would have know what a mandala was if I didn’t have an interest in oriental philosophy. Different strokes for different folks and all that… What always intrigues me are the different ways people use photography. I see these things and wonder why I didn’t think of that. I give them a try and some work and some don’t. I like the smoke art and the mandalas. Things like “drawing with light” don’t interest me. I’m very interested in impressionistic photography (all done in camera without photoshop), but I just can’t seem to make it work. I’d also like to take pictures like Bresson, Brassai, Weegee Winogrand and others, but can’t seem to quite do that either. On well, keep on plugging.

Leave a Reply

