Earth Day


In recognition of Earth Day 2010 – A Mandala created from a landscape of sky, earth, water (and fluffy clouds).

This entry was posted in Abstract, D300, Mandala, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earth Day

  1. I like the high degree of abstraction with this one. Do you use Photoshop for your Mandalas or do you have a dedicated plugin or program?

    • Reese says:

      Björn – I’ve never been able to bring myself to pay the price for Photoshop. 99% of what I need is in Lightroom. I’m on a Mac and use a Photoshop work-a-like called Pixelmator (paid $39 US). I assume there is a Photoshop equivalent for what I use for the mandalas. Under the “filters” menu there is a submenu called “tiled” which allows you to fragment a picture in different ways. Under that is one call kaleidoscope, which creates a generally round image. You pick the number of fragments (mandalas tend to be 4, 5 or 6). Then the fun begins! You can move the center of the fragmented image to any point on the original photo and see it replicated in the number of fragments you selected. You can also change the “angle” which changes or distorts the perspective. I fiddle with it until I get the result I’m looking for. You can spend quite a bit of time doing this. It’s relaxation therapy!

      When I think about it, this manipulation is a lot like taking a straight photo. The photographer picks the image, the angle, the crop… What the viewer sees in either case is the photographer’s interpretation.

Leave a Reply

