Herps Part I


Continuing my naturalist certification program, and the current subject is herpetology (the study of amphibians). This week’s field trip included a late night of wading through a vernal pond in the middle of nowhere (Vandyke, Delaware, actually).  It was quite amazing, with a cacophony of frog calls filling the air and everyone trying to catch what the could.  This was my catch, the American Bullfrog (Rana catesbeiana).  This one was so large he could have been on the menu!  I don’t think he approved of how I was holding him – he hissed and squawked the whole time.  I think he’s a rather handsome chap.

This entry was posted in GF1, Hiking, Macro, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Herps Part I

  1. Jean Toy says:

    Great picture. How did you manage to hold and shoot him at the same time? Does one have to worry about warts from frogs, or is that just toads?

    • Reese says:

      Well – I gave my camera to my sister and I just posed the frog – and you don’t have to worry about warts from frogs or toads (and a toad is still a frog!)

Leave a Reply

