Robber Fly


It’s going to be bugs for awhile… Unlike the last one, I do know what this insect is.  It’s a robber fly (a Diptera in the family Asilidae).  This one has caught and is eating a small moth. The fly is about an inch in length.  The robber’s proboscis is used to stab and inject victims with a toxic saliva and enzymes that breaks down the insides of the prey.  The robber then sucks on a liquid meal!

This entry was posted in Bugs, D300, Macro and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Robber Fly

  1. Nice to have you back. I’m curious, as to your macro technique. Most of these critters don’t cooperate by staying motionless so I assume you don’t set up a tripod? Do you focus manually? The results are impressive and show a world most of us aren’t aware of.

  2. Reese says:

    It’s good to be back. Someone posted earlier to ask if all the flowers had died. That’s when I realized I needed to start shooting and posting agin.

    You’re right about the tripod. I tried that, but missed more shots than I got. And yes I focus manually. Actually, the robber fly and butterfly were taken with an old manual focus 55mm Nikon lens so I didn’t have a choice. In general though, I never have much luck with auto focus and macro.

    The only thing that works for me is patience and luck. The robber fly seems to be flying a circuit, stopping at the same places. I picked the one where I could get the best shot and waited. Even with that, I only get decent results about 20% of the time.

Leave a Reply

