Smartweed Critter


This is a smartweed caterpillar that I encountered during a visit to the DuPont Environmental Education Center on the Christina Riverfront.  It’s a gaudy caterpillar that turns into a rather drab and insipid moth.

I’ve noticed that I’m taking an awful lot of insect and nature pictures lately, so I’ve created a new blog site just dedicated to that.  It’s called Delaware Naturalist, so give it a look.  My plan is  to return this blog to it’s original focus on experiments and such and leave the bugs on the new blog.  Let me know what  you think.

This entry was posted in Bugs, GF1, Macro. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smartweed Critter

  1. That’s a smart looking blog, Reese. I like your macro photography and keep thinking I should do more myself. Do you use a tripod for a lot of your macros?

    • Reese says:

      Thanks! I hope to have fun with both the new and old blogs. I like to use a tripod for macro whenever I can, but much of what I photograph doesn’t cooperate. Because of the depth of field differences, I’m more apt to try to use a tripod with the D300 than the GF1, although I usually carry a small tabletop tripod for use with he GF1 – it usually doesn’t work out. Without the tripod, it just takes more attempts to get an acceptable photograph.

Leave a Reply

