Lights and Sirens!


I was awakened at 4:30 this morning to flashing lights in the bedroom, and sprang from my bed to see what was the matter.  Our neighborhood was filled with fire engines, and the house across the street was in flames.  The house had been empty for a few weeks, and the owner was doing some renovation before putting it on the market.  The cause of the fire is unknown at this point.

I don’t know how many fire companies responded, but I counted 9 engines on the street.

The ones I could identify were from Claymont and Talleyville.

Any fire of this magnitude is a tragedy, but I was particularly heartbroken to see this house on fire. This is easily my favorite house in the neighborhood – a 50’s ranch with many unique features, such as wood carvings in the foyer ceiling, parquet floors in the dining room, granite floors in the living room, an elaborate greenhouse, and an architectural style that is unique.  I hope something can be salvaged.

This entry was posted in D300, Events. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lights and Sirens!

  1. Reese, that’s quite a dramatic set of photos. That first photo is superb; love the contrast between the cold blue illumination and the blaze and billowing smoke through the trees. It’s good that you don’t see exactly what’s going on. That adds to the mystery.

    • Reese says:

      Thanks. The first was my wife’s favorite as well. I was having trouble with the emergency lights, and was sure the white balance was off. My wife assured me that this was exactly how things looked.

Leave a Reply

