The Incredible Pastured Egg


Corn is going to be the death of us. About seven years ago, I was told to change my diet for health reasons. In particular, I was told to significantly reduce my intake of omega-6 fatty acids and increase the omega-3s. Where do these omega-6 fats come from in the American diet? Predominately from corn, which is massively subsidized, making it cheap to feed to all kinds of animals and incorporate into all kinds of food products, thereby passing it along to us.

The solution is to avoid foods from the agribusiness behemoths and opt for small farms producing grass-fed beef and pastured eggs. Which brings me again to the recently opened Whole Foods Market. Until the opening of their new store, it has been near impossible to find a pastured egg in northern Delaware (If you know of another source, let me know). Except for the occasional dozen from down-state friends or buying them while on vacation at the beach, I’ve pretty much avoided eggs. Whole Foods sells pastured eggs from Vital Farms in Texas, a producer that received a top-score five-egg rating from the Cornucopia Institute. Pastured eggs address the omega-6 problem while being a much healthier food choice overall. Bring on the Omelettes!

This entry was posted in Food, Fuji X100 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Incredible Pastured Egg

  1. I’ve been avoiding foods from agribusiness as well. Not for health reasons, but because the real food tastes so much better. Love the reflected grass in the egg holder.

    • Reese says:

      The older I get, the more I migrate to real foods, for reasons of both health and taste. Fortunately, real food is becoming more available.

  2. Donna says:

    Reese, Thanks for linking to one of my favorite authors, Michael Pollan. Another who does a great job in describing issues surrounding our food supply is Barbara Kingsolver in Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. I have started on some of Mark Bittman’s books and am hooked.

    • Reese says:

      I’ve read all of Pollan and the Kingsolver book, but haven’t read any of Bittman. I’ll look him up (or borrow your copy).

Leave a Reply

