Paint Bank General Store


Not all of my pictures are flowers and landscapes.  I actually enjoy taking pictures of folks  I meet on my travels. This is a fellow who was enjoying a bottle of pop on the porch of the General Store in Paint Bank, Virginia. I asked him how the town got the name ‘Paint Bank’ and he proceeded to tell me about a guy he knew that came from a town called ‘Cuba’. According to the cashier at the general store, the name derives from the custom of local Cherokees using clay from the bank of the town river for their war paint, a story that I was able to double check on the Internet.

This entry was posted in Fuji X-Pro1, Portraits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

